The Adventures of Tom Sawyer

ISBN: 9781402211676

By: Mark Twain

Published: 09/01/2008

Available Formats




Mark Twain’s classic characters, brought to life in a new book-plus-audio edition.

Tom Sawyer would rather not go to school. Instead, he spends his time playing pirates and searching for buried treasure. When Tom and his friend Huck witness a murder, only they can save their friends and the treasure from the evil Injun Joe. But are they brave enough to catch him?

The Adventures of Tom Sawyer is read by Garrick Hagon, who also appeared in Star Wars and Tim Burton's Batman.

With the included audio you can HEAR the entire book, word for word, READ ALONG with the audio, or READ the story on your own.

Each HEAR IT READ IT classic presents the world's greatest stories in an easy-to-read abridged format. The included audio contains a dramatic reading—with music and sound effects—that match the text, word for word, so children of all ages and reading levels can read along.

Perfect for high-level young readers experiencing the classics for the first time and also ideally accessible for “reluctant readers,” HEAR IT READ IT classics give young readers the best possible introduction to the world’s timeless tales. It’s a terrific way for adults to re-experience the thrills of a classic tale, too!

Add other Hear It Read It classics to your library, including:
--King Arthur and the Knights of the Round Table
--Black Beauty
--Treasure Island
--And more...

About the Author

Mark Twain

Samuel Clemens was born on November 30, 1835 in Florida, Missouri. When he was four years old, his family moved to Hannibal, Missouri, which became his childhood home and the inspiration for many of his stories. He eventually took on the pen name of Mark Twain, and had his first short story published in 1865. His first book, The Innocents Abroad, was published in 1869. Twain wrote many stories and novels but he is best remembered for The Adventures of Tom Sawyer and The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn. His works were popular during his lifetime, and brought him close to artists, royalty, and presidents. Today, Mark Twain is regarded as one of America’s greatest and best-loved authors.


Table of Contents

Chapter 1: Tom’s in Trouble Again
Chapter 2: Huck and the Dead Cat
Chapter 3: A Night in the Graveyard
Chapter 4: The Boys Become Pirates
Chapter 5: The Boys Discover They Have Drowned
Chapter 6: Tom Returns Home Momentarily
Chapter 7: The Funeral
Chapter 8: Tom Confesses to Aunt Polly
Chapter 9: Muff Potter’s Trial
Chapter 10: Treasure in the Haunted House
Chapter 11: A Picnic and a Trip to the Cave
Chapter 12: Huckleberry Finn Saves Widow Douglas
Chapter 13: Tom and Becky Lost in the Cave
Chapter 14: Tom and Becky Are Found
Chapter 15: Tom and Huck Become Rich

About the Author


Format: Hardcover

Length: 7.75 in
Width: 6 in
Weight: 12.16 oz
Page Count: 144 pages


1935 Brookdale Road | Suite 139
Naperville, IL 60563
(800) 432-7444 or 800-43Bright (toll-free)
(630) 961-3900 (phone)
(630) 961-2168 (fax)

Sourcebooks Inc, Publishers - Book, Naperville, IL

Sign Up for Our Newsletter

Subscribers receive exclusive deals and content every month!