Loading...

Curse of the Night Witch

ISBN: 9781492697206

Published: 06/09/2020

Available Formats

Hardcover
$16.99

Description

An #ownvoices fast-paced series starter steeped in Columbian mythology and full of adventure, perfect for fans of Aru Shah and the End of Time and Percy Jackson. Filled with fantasy, action, adventure, and an unforgettable trio of friends.

A Seventeen.com Most Anticipated Book of Summer!
A Zibby Owens Summer Reading Pick on Good Morning America!

On Emblem Island all are born knowing their fate. Their lifelines show the course of their life and an emblem dictates how they will spend it.

Twelve-year-old Tor Luna was born with a leadership emblem, just like his mother. But he hates his mark and is determined to choose a different path for himself. So, on the annual New Year's Eve celebration, where Emblemites throw their wishes into a bonfire in the hopes of having them granted, Tor wishes for a different power.

The next morning Tor wakes up to discover a new marking on his skin…the symbol of a curse that has shortened his lifeline, giving him only a week before an untimely death. There is only one way to break the curse, and it requires a trip to the notorious Night Witch.

With only his village's terrifying, ancient stories as a guide, and his two friends Engle and Melda by his side, Tor must travel across unpredictable Emblem Island, filled with wicked creatures he only knows through myths, in a race against his dwindling lifeline.

You'll love Curse of the Night Witch if you're looking for:
  • Summer reading for tweens and teens ages 11-14
  • Multicultural books for children (especially Latinx books)
  • Stories based on fascinating mythology
  • Your next favorite fantasy series for girls ages 9-12
  • "Debut author Aster takes inspiration from Colombian folklore to craft a rousing series opener that's both fast-paced and thrilling. As her protagonists face off against a host of horrors, they learn the value of friendship and explore the possibility of changing one's fate in a world where destiny is predetermined."—Publishers Weekly, STARRED review

    "Worthy of every magical ounce."—Kirkus Reviews, STARRED review

    Hide

    Reviews



    “Named a Seventeen.com Most Anticipated Book of Summer!” - Seventeen.com

    Specs

    Format: Hardcover

    Dimensions
    Length: 8.25 in
    Width: 5.5 in
    Weight: 0.00 oz
    Page Count: 352 pages

    logo-2

    1935 Brookdale Road | Suite 139
    Naperville, IL 60563
    (800) 432-7444 or 800-43Bright (toll-free)
    (630) 961-3900 (phone)
    (630) 961-2168 (fax)

    Sourcebooks Inc, Publishers - Book, Naperville, IL

    Sign Up for Our Newsletter

    Subscribers receive exclusive deals and content every month!