The Secret Garden

ISBN: 9781402212444

By: Frances Burnett

Published: 09/01/2008

Available Formats




Frances Hodgson Burnett’s engrossing story of secrets and discoveries, brought to life in a new book-plus-audio edition.

Mary Lennox doesn’t want to move to England to live with her uncle, but she has no choice. At first she hates her uncle’s cold house, the gardens and moors that surround it and the servants with their funny way of talking. And at night she hears a child crying, but the servants insist it’s only the wind. Curious in spite of herself, Mary wanders the house and gardens and discovers that both are full of secrets.

The Secret Garden is read by Jenny Agutter, who appeared in Peter Pan with the British National Theatre.

With the included audio you can HEAR the entire book, word for word, READ ALONG with the audio, or READ the story on your own.

Each HEAR IT READ IT classic presents the world's greatest stories in an easy-to-read abridged format. The included audio contains a dramatic reading—with music and sound effects—that match the text, word for word, so children of all ages and reading levels can read along.

Perfect for high-level young readers experiencing the classics for the first time and also ideally accessible for “reluctant readers,” HEAR IT READ IT classics give young readers the best possible introduction to the world’s timeless tales. It’s a terrific way for adults to re-experience the thrills of a classic tale, too!

Add other Hear It Read It classics to your library, including:
--A Little Princess
--The Adventures of Tom Sawyer
--Black Beauty
--And more...

About the Author

Frances Hodgson Burnett

Frances Hodgson Burnett became a writer to support her family after the deaths of her parents. She was published regularly in Harper’s Bazaar and Scribner’s before publishing her best-known works, The Secret Garden, Little Lord Fauntleroy, and A Little Princess. She died in 1924.


Table of Contents

Chapter 1: There Is No One Left
Chapter 2: Martha
Chapter 3: The Cry in the Corridor
Chapter 4: The Key of the Garden
Chapter 5: The Strangest House Anyone Ever Lived In
Chapter 6: “Might I Have a Bit of Earth?”
Chapter 7: “I Am Colin”
Chapter 8: A Young Rajah
Chapter 9: Nest Building
Chapter 10: A Tantrum
Chapter 11: “Tha’ Munnot Waste No Time”
Chapter 12: “I Shall Live Forever–and Ever–and Ever!”
Chapter 13: Magic
Chapter 14: In the Garden


Format: Hardcover

Length: 7.75 in
Width: 6 in
Weight: 15.36 oz
Page Count: 144 pages


1935 Brookdale Road | Suite 139
Naperville, IL 60563
(800) 432-7444 or 800-43Bright (toll-free)
(630) 961-3900 (phone)
(630) 961-2168 (fax)

Sourcebooks Inc, Publishers - Book, Naperville, IL

Sign Up for Our Newsletter

Subscribers receive exclusive deals and content every month!